6 Ethical Certifications and Memberships You Should Know About

Ethical, Sustainable and Slow Fashion, terms that come with a lot of Ethical Certifications and Memberships.

What are these Ethical Certifications and Memberships and why do we need them?
A lot goes into making ethical products and so does a lot of greenwashing! These certifications are proof of a quality product and a reliable supply chain. They make shopping easier and more meaningful. As consumers, the least we can do is buy products that are sure to have had no or low negative social or environmental impact, products that are fair-trade.
The question is better answered in our post, what is fairtrade?, that explains the term and everything that surrounds the word.

SO… Let us get to know our marks like Sheldon knows his flags,

1. Fair Trade India:
A product that carries the Fairtrade Certification Mark has met the rigorous Fairtrade Standards, which focuses on improving labour and living conditions for farming communities and promoting a way of farming that protects people and the environment. Simpler words, an assurance that the person that made the product was paid and treated fairly.
Read more about it here.

fair trade mark


2. World Fair Trade Organization (WFTO):
An organization that first comes to your mind when it comes to Fair Trade, WFTO, has its own Certified mark. It helps in identifying if the company is complying to a comprehensive list of 10 principles set by the WFTO. A certificate from Fair Trade Federation is equivalent to this certification since it is a part of the WFTO.
Read more about it here.

WFTO fair trade mark

3. Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS):
This is an assurance that the textile product consists of at least 70% organic fibers and that the dyes and chemicals being used meet the GOTS standards as well to receive the certification. A lot of environmental and social criteria need to be met as well. Here is a little something about organic cotton which might help you realize the importance of this mark: What is organic cotton?
Read more about it here.

GOTS mark


4. Craftmark Seal:
It was developed in 2006 by the All India Artisans and craftworkers Association (AIACA) An important seal of certification for each and every brand that is helping Indian artisans and supporting  Indian crafts.
Read more about it here.


craft mark certificate


5. PETA vegan mark:
We are all well aware of PETA and its various works for protecting animals. This mark can be used for individual products that are vegan or the brand itself. It is an assurance that no animals were tested on or harmed for the making of the product.
Read more about it here.

Peta vegan logo


6. Better Cotton Initiative (BCI):
The BCI logo or ‘On-Product Mark’ on packaging is not proof that the product is made of physically traceable Better Cotton but means that you’re buying a majority cotton product, from a retailer or brand that is committed to sourcing Better Cotton. It can also mean that the said retailer or brand is investing in helping cotton farmers.
Read more about it here

BCI green logo


Now let’s make sure that each one of us look for these marks on every garment and product we buy.

Read more about other key ethical certifications and memberships around the world over here.


One thought on “6 Ethical Certifications and Memberships You Should Know About

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *